Halal Food Guide

Ξ November 6th, 2007 | → 1 Comments | ∇ Al-Islam |

Food Guide

This section has lists of Food suitable for Vegetarians (this may or may not contain alcohol) and Muslims (Halaal lists – as vegetarian with no alcohol). Some of the lists are too huge to present here. Please follow the links to the manufacturer’s Web sites. This is by no means an exhaustive list. From time to time, these lists may get out of date (check back regularly – I will do my best to update them as soon as I receive the updated lists). Please do not take this as authoritative list. It is meant to be a guide only. May Allah (SWT) help us to eat Halaal Food. I will do my best to update this section as soon as I receive updates. If there are any items missing, please send an email to the WebMaster. Note : Please note that vegetarian products may contain alcohol so always check the labels before buying.

Some manufacturers have a policy of using only vegetable ingredients. In these cases, the Last Updated will not change unless the manufacturer changes its policy.
E-numbers List – see below for a list of numbers not suitable for a Halal diet

The food guide has been temporarily removed. In the meantime, please use the following site, which has a more up to date information.
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/

E-Numbers List

    The following is a list of products containing animal by-products, such as animal fat, gelatine and fatty acids (fats). It is by no means certain that they are Haraam. Only Allah (SWT) knows, and may we be guided by Him. It is better to avoid products these e-numbers, as there is doubt about them.

    E No. – Description – Notes
    COLOURS
    E120 – Cochineal (red colour) – from scale insects
    E140 – Chlorophyll – fatty acids & others
    E141 – Copper phaeophytins – from chlorophyll

    PRESERVATIVE
    E252 – Potassium Nitrate – waste animal & vegetable material

    EMULSIFIERS
    E422 – Glycerol (Glycerine) – from soaps & fatty acids
    430 – Polyoxyethelene stearate – fatty acid molecules
    431 – Polyoxyethelene stearate – fatty acids
    433 – Polysorbate 80 – oleic esters of sorbitol
    E470 Sodium salts of soap fatty acids
    E471 Glyceryl Monostearate from glycerin & fatty acid
    E472a Acetic esters of fatty acids esters of glycerol & acetic acid
    E472b Lactic esters of fatty acids esters of glycerol & lactic acid
    E472c Citric esters of fatty acids esters of glycerol & citric acid
    E472d Tartaric esters of fatty acids esters of glycerol & tartaric acid
    E472e Acetyltartaric esters of fatty acids esters of glycerol & tartaric acid
    E473 Sucrose esters esters of glycerol & sucrose
    E474 Sucroglycerides from lard
    E475 Polyglycerol esters of fatty acids
    476 Polyglycerol polyricinoleate castor oil & glycerol esters
    E477 Propylene glycol esters propylene glycol
    478 Lactylated glycerol esters glycerol esters & lactic acid
    491 Sorbitan monostearate stearic acid and sorbitol
    492 Sorbitan Tristearate stearic acid
    E494 Sorbitan mono-oleate from oleic acid
    542 Edible bone phosphate steam-extract from animal bones

    ANTI-CAKING AGENTS
    570 Stearic acid fatty acid in animal fats & veg oils
    572 Magnesium stearate stearic acid

    FLAVOURINGS
    631 Sodium 5_inosinate meat extract & dried sardines
    635 Sodium 5_ribonucleotide meat extract & dried sardines
    904 Shellac resin by lac insect

    Additives or ingredients, which have not been allocated EEC numbers and may be derived from non-halal sources, are :

    Edible / Animal fat or oil
    Gelatin / gelatine
    Enzymes of catalase, lipase, pepsin, trypsin, rennin (or rennet)

    Please note that the E471 is also known as mono & di-glyceride of fatty acids (some manufacturers do not put the E-number but put the wording instead). This can be of vegetable or animal origin. There are two ways of finding out : either the wrapper says “suitable for vegetarians” or you have to ask the manufacturer (this has been done for the manufacturers listed above).

    E-numbers Guide

    Source : http://www.kingstonmosque.org.uk/Food/index.htm

 

One Response to ' Halal Food Guide '

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to ' Halal Food Guide '.

  1. Nurul Latifah Fahmi said,

    on March 4th, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Thanx….!!

Leave a reply